Taking the scenic route

I went running the other week in the back hills of Vista, aka the boonies. Nic and I found a really amazing trail through the brush and amazing landscape behind Gopher Canyon Road. After probably trespassing on a few properties we found the “real” trail. Where the trail starts, I still don’t know. It would be cool to find the real trail head so we don’t have to risk hopping over “Private Property” signs again.

Without exploration nothing cool would ever be found. And this trail was epic. No houses or streets, tree branches towering over my head, hopping over stones, trying not to trip over roots.

The last stretch back to the house on the hill Nic was house-sitting is a mile of gradually increasing uphill. Fun? Sort of. Then why? Great conditioning.

Here are my miles from last week:

Tues: 7

Wed: 0

Thurs: 6

Fri: 0

Sat: 0

Sun: 13

Mon: 3

Total for the week: 29

I admit I got bogged down by work and school. With just two extra days of running in there I could have easily reached a 40 miles week. 40 miles in a week is acceptable for a newbie marathon trainee according to research I have done through runnersworld.com and active.com.

My goal for this coming week is 50 miles.

Leave a comment